The Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a rigorous academic programme taught over two years. The courses lead to standardized exams at the end of the program and are accepted here in India and worldwide as a superior grade 10 qualification. The IGCSE is also an excellent preparation for the IBDP. In IGCSE, students take 5 mandatory subjects and choose two options. Students that pass seven exams in five different subject groups will receive the prestigious Cambridge International Certificate of Education (ICE) which is very advantageous for students seeking to study abroad for University.


IGCSE Curriculum at Goldcrest International (Grade 9 and 10)

Goldcrest International requires students to sit the IGCSE Examinations in

  • English (0500),
  • Hindi (0549) OR French (0520)
  • Mathematics (0607),
  • Coordinated Sciences (0654), and
  • Global Perspectives (0457).

Students are also required to choose any TWO from the following subjects:

  • ICT (0417),
  • Economics (0455) and
  • Business & Management (0450).

Subjects such as Drama (0411), Music (0410) and Art & Design (0400) can be opted for with

Special permission from the Head of School.

The student may change the subjects selected within the first 8 weeks of classes.

Mathematics and English Language Levels from Extended to Core can be changed based on

teacher discretion and parental advice.



 The Following subjects are offered:

  • English
  • Math
  • Combined Sciences
  • History
  • Geography
  • French: Higher/ lower
  • Hindi: Higher/ lower
  • Drama
  • Music
  • Art
  • Films
  • Physical Education

All subjects are compulsory.  However, there is a choice between 2nd Language Levels.

A student opting for Hindi (Higher Level – A), will do French (Lower Level – B), and vice versa.

Taking two Higher Languages or two lower languages can happen only with the permission of the Head of School.

All students have to participate in Physical Education, Drama, Music, Art and Community Outreach, unless they have clear medical reasons not to do so.

THE Cambridge programs (checkpoint and IGCSE)

The grade considers all aspects of student performance and is used to calculate GPA (Grade Point Average). The grade is not an average of tests scores, but a best fit based on work the student has done. Students are graded using the scale as outlined below.


A* 90-100 Outstanding
A 80-89 Excellent
B 70-79 Superior
C 60-69 Good
D 50-59 Satisfactory
E 45-49 Reaching Expectations
G 40-44 Needs Improvement
Below 40% 20-29 Ungraded


A* 90-100 Gold
A 80-89 Silver
B 70-79 Silver
C 60-69 Silver
D 50-59 Bronze
E 40-49 Bronze
Below 40%   Ungraded